I'm going to start this out by apologizing for the fact that I'm a day late on this post.  I know, you're all hugely disappointed (not that we actually have fans who read this yet) but the blog must go on.  I was busy writing my review for Infamous 2 this week, not quite done yet but it's getting there.  Now that I've finished it I have the urge to go pick up the Sly collection (also by Sucker Punch Productions) but I'm playing way too many games at the moment, so that probably won't happen any time soon.  In fact, as I'm writing this I'm downloading Lord of the Rings Online, the hit MMORPG of 2010.  It's now both free to play and free to download, so I thought, "what the hell, might as well give it a shot".

What's New

There wasn't really anything big that grabbed my eye this week as far as releases go.  Limbo, the hit game on Xbox 360 from last year was released on PC.  Galaga Legions DX came out on PS3.  I'm guessing only fans of the original Galaga will get this as it's pretty much a reboot of the classic Arcade game.  Phineas and Ferb: Across the 2nd Dimension came out for PS3 and Wii.  Phineas is one of Disney's newest enterprises and it's surprisingly a hit with kids despite  how it was expected to do poorly.  Pirates of Black Cove came out on PC.  I played the demo of this one and it reminds me of Age of Empires.  You basically start out as a small time pirate and rise the ranks to becoming the baddest mo*&#$@ f%^&@# around.  I'm not much for real time strategy but it looks like it could still be pretty fun.

Bleach: Soul Resurreccion (yeah, they mispelled resurrection aparantly on purpose. Must be a Japanese thing) came out on PS3.  This is more of an action Beat 'em up style game based on the hit anime series by the same name.  I'm sure fans of the series will get this, but the non-anime fans will probably pass.  Brink finally got some DLC called Agents of Change on Xbox 360.  And Insanely Twisted Shadow Planet came out on Xbox Live Arcade.  The visual style in this side scrolling shooter looks cool, it might be worth taking a look at.  And last, but not least, Final Fantasy Tactics: War of the Lions came out on IOS.  It's nice to see this amazing Strategy RPG from the PSP get a port over to Iphone/Ipod touch/Ipad/Iwhateverthehell.  The story and cutscenes on the PSP version were what drew me in to this game, and it seems like IOS will be a perfect fit.  Makes me want to pick up an Ipod touch so I can play this again.

What I'm Playing\

I really didn't play too much this week.  Been pretty busty getting ready for my wedding in 2 weeks, but I did get some gaming in.  Yesterday I played some Knights of the Old Republic.  Yeah, I know it's an older game, but I never really played more than an hour of it when it came out before I got distracted by other big releases.  Boy did I miss out on some good sweet Star Wars RPG gameplay.  KOTOR has excellent voice acting, awesome graphics (for a game that's about 10 years old), and some pretty good gameplay mechanics.  I keep finding myself just walking around looking at the landscapes in awe of the universe BioWare created.  I'm also consistantly reminded of the Mass Effect series (also by BioWare).  I wish they would reboot this game more in the FPS/RPG style that Mass Effect was, but they probably won't so I'll have to make do.  I look forward to getting some more time with this one though in the future.

Since I really didn't play much of anything else (except about an hour of Catherine) I'll talk about some TV series I'm watching on Netflix right now.  I just finished season 1 of Sherlock on the BBC, and HOLY CRAP this show is good.  It reminds me a lot of Robert Downey Jr.'s version of Sherlock (new movie coming out soon by the way!!)  but it takes place in modern times.  If you love Sir Arthur Conan Doyle's Sherlock, and wonder what he would be like in the age of technology, go get this now, or at least stream it on Netflix.

I also just finished Season 2 of Merlin another hit show on the BBC.  Merlin was on ABC in the United States for season 1, but got dropped and picked back up by SyFy for season 2.  I really don't know what's wrong with Americans for not liking this show.  It combines humor, action, and fantasy in a perfect entertaining mix.  It's nowhere near as good as Legend of the Seeker was, but it's still definitely worth checking out if you like a good fantasy style show.

Yesterday I watched a very... interesting movie.  It was a sci-fi version of Beowulf.  The acting was TERRIBLE and Beowulf looked almost exactly like Glenn Beck (so that's what he's doing since he quit radio and tv) but I still watched it all the way through for some reason.  The movie still focuses on Beowulf killing Grendel, just like in the classic book, but with a sci-fi twist.  This takes place in a weird sort of medieval/industrial time period.  They ride horses, but use a sort of buzz-saw on a stick for weapons.  When it was over, I was so confused as to what I just saw I almost watched it again.  I really don't recommend this since it was so bad, however it's a good way to waste a few hours of your life if you're really bored and curious.

That's all I have for now.  Check back soon for my Infamous 2 review, it'll be in the Playstation 3 section under Game Reviews and under the what's new area on the homepage.  Have a great week!  Now get out there and play some games!
7/12/2012 02:17:56 pm

will return quickly

Reply



Leave a Reply.