What up everyone?  So, if you've been following my blog, you know I got Lord of the Rings Online last week.  Well, I have to say this game is AWESOME!!!  I really see no reason why anyone shouldn't try this game out.  It's completely free to download, just Google Lord of the Rings Online and you should find the site.  But here's the kicker, there's no monthly fee to play this glorious MMORPG!  Anyway, I'll talk about that in a bit, after we get through the incredibly small list of this weeks new releases.

New Releases

Since there weren't any HUGE releases this week, I'm just going to list off what did come out by system:
PC: Trauma, Edge, and two scenario packs for Sid Meier's Civilization V: Korea, and Wonders of       the Ancient World.
IPHONE: Mega Mall Story
X360:  Fruit Ninja Kinect, Avatar Farm, and Andromium
WII: Kyotokei
DS: My Asian Farm
If I had to pick something to play on this list, Edge looks like a fairly entertaining puzzle game for PC.  Although it sort of reminds me of Catherine.  Fruit Ninja Kinect could also be entertaining, although I find it funny that a cell phone game was ported over to a console.

What I'm Playing

Now on to the good part.  As I mentioned, I'm playing Lord of the Rings Online.  This is an MMORPG (Massively Multiplayer Online Role Playing Game) based off of the world and lore of Tolkein's Middle Earth.  I'd have to say, Turbine did an amazing job of translating Middle Earth into a video game.  The gameplay is very similar to World of Warcraft, in that you simply point and click on an enemy to attack, followed by selecting which more powerful skills you want to use.  It's an MMO, so if you have friends who play it, you can form a fellowship with them and do quests together.  Reaper also just started playing it so we've done a few quests together, which has been a blast.  The story itself runs parallel to the events happening in the Lord of the Rings Books and Movies, to give you an idea of when this is taking place.  The story is fantastic, and indeed seems to accurately follow historical events in the history of Middle Earth accurately (I own and have read the Silmarillion, and Volumes 1-12 of the History of Middle Earth so I have a fairly good idea of what's accurate or not).  So if you're a fan of Lord of the Rings, or MMO's, or RPG's in general, I strongly suggest you go download this game RIGHT NOW.  That will give you something to do while you're reading this blog.

I also started playing Assassin's Creed: Brotherhood this week.  I had played through the first two in the series which I thoroughly enjoyed, so I decided to pick up Brotherhood on Amazon before Revelations comes out.  I stuck the game in my PS3, booted it up, and then thought "why do I already have a save file for this?" Turns out I borrowed it from a co-worker when it first came out about a year ago and played it for three hours before deciding I'd want to buy it eventually.  Anyway, I replayed the first three hours, which is one of the most exciting intros yet for the series.  It mixes up the gameplay a bit from what you're used to if you played the first two games.  I'm really enjoying the story so far, and I look forward to completing the game so I can write a review up for it before the new game comes out.

That's it for this week.  Make sure you go check out LOTRO (FREE, so no excuses).  If you want to play with me or Reaper, hit me up with a message on the Contact us page with your character name and we'll add you to our friends list

5/31/2012 02:13:53 pm

THX for info

Reply



Leave a Reply.