I know this might seem strange for our site, but I decided to write up a quick review on the new gaming glasses I just purchased, Gunnar Optiks Phantom Mercury. I purchased these over the holiday during a sale they were having, so they cost me $60 (shipping included) and they normally go for about $79 on their site. Shipping was really fast for them, I received them 2 days after my order was placed. I will first start with the one big negative thing that might hesitate people from buying them. The lenses do have an amber tint to them, so when you first put them on, everything yellows slightly, but most eyes will get used to them, and when you take them off, the world around you is what will look different.  My primary use for these glasses are for work, as I do stare at a monitor all day long, and I was constantly getting headaches, dry eyes, redness, and eye fatigue to the point that my eyes would be on fire.  For me, from day one, these glasses have really improved my eyes and how they feel at the end of the day, even with contacts, they still feel fresh.

    Now let’s get onto the real reason that everyone wants these glasses: gaming. I have tried these of course with my gaming, and have seen much improvement with my reaction time. Now I am not saying go out and buy these glasses, your K/D rate will improve!! Not in all cases will this happen, the only reason it did with me was simply because I am spending less time messing with my eyes when playing, so I am able to focus more on the action around me, increasing my reaction time, hence increasing my K/D rate. One thing I will say though that isn’t necessarily a negative thing, but if you have the chance, definitely go try a pair on before buying them, right now Best Buy has a set in most locations on display to try. I simply say this, because not everyone is going to like the tint of the lens, and will regret their purchase, and I don’t want that to happen to any of our readers. Bottom line though, these things do work in my opinion and are definitely priced right for the amount of technology behind them and how effective they are at keeping your eye strain and fatigue down. If you are a hardcore gamer or computer user that stares at a screen for more than an hour at a time, I would definitely recommend purchasing a set of Gunnar Optiks.




Leave a Reply.